Friday, February 24, 2012

~ 19th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards ~

/Click on image to Enter/

TONIGHT, hockey legend Theoren Fleury and British Columbia’s own Carmen Moore are hosting the 19th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards in Vancouver.

Recognizing the remarkable accomplishments of 15 First Nation, Inuit and Métis people, the recipients were celebrated in the House of Commons. The Awards Gala is taking place at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre. The event will later be broadcasted on APTN and Global.

Co-hosts Fleury and Moore will guide viewers through a magical evening of performance, celebration and incredible journeys.

“We are thrilled such a diverse group of talented performers will take part in this inspiring event,” said Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO, National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation and Executive Producer, National Aboriginal Achievement Awards. “They are role models to the thousands of youth who will be watching the Awards live in the theatre, and later on television.”

Rock icon and Mohawk from Six Nations of the Grand River, Robbie Robertson will make a special presentation at the upcoming awards.

Internationally acclaimed Métis singer, songwriter and pianist, Chantal Kreviazuk will enchant viewers with one of her soulful ballades.

Following his performance at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics Closing Ceremony, award-winning singer Derek Miller is back in Vancouver to perform a track from his latest album, Derek Miller with Double Trouble.

Kicking off the Awards is a classical piece mixed with Indigenous and western influences composed and conducted by Dustin Peters. Baritone Carey Newman and mezzo-soprano Marion Newman will be singing the opening number, with dancers Jera Wolfe and Sarain Fox interpreting the piece.

2011 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards co-host and Gemini Award winner, Evan Adams makes a special appearance in his hometown of Vancouver.

Closing the show is an inspiring number with powerful Indigenous women, including Andrea Menard, Fara Palmer, Inez, Jani Lauzon, Leela Gilday, Rita Coolidge, Sandy Scofield and rising talent, 10 year old Noelle Maracle.

The following are the National Aboriginal Achievement Award Recipients for 2012:

Adam Beach - Arts

Victor S. Buffalo - Business & Commerce

Dave Courchene - Culture, Heritage & Spirituality

Leona Makokis - Education

Richard Stewart Hardy - Environment & Natural Resources

Dr. Janet Smylie - Health

Violet Ford - Law & Justice

Senator Gerry St. Germain - Lifetime

Richard Wagamese - Media & Communications

The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq - Politics

Grand Chief Edward John - Politics

Minnie Grey - Public Service

Richard Peter - Sports

Earl Cook - Youth

Candace Sutherland - Youth


- -


No comments: